Parkin (not Simon)

After my last horrendous attempt at baking, I finally got back on the baking horse last weekend and made some parkin (as in the cake, not the late eighties/ early nineties inhabitant of the Broom Cupboard who now happens to present the weather on Meridian) in celebration of Bonfire Night.

I used this recipe (I don’t know why they used such a blurry picture) and do you know what? It actually turned out to be delicious. I’m not going to be attempting Fraisier cake or croquembouche any time soon but at least it’s a step in the right direction…

For those of you who don’t know, parkin is a sticky cake which originates in Yorkshire and is traditionally made around November 5th. The idea is to make it at least a few days before Bonfire Night as it gets stickier and better the longer you leave it.

Happy Bonfire/ Guy Fawkes Night, everyone! (Be safe and all that.)

2 thoughts on “Parkin (not Simon)

    • Thank you! It was a particular triumph for me as I’m notoriously rubbish at baking. It was also a bit of a nod to my visit to Yorkshire a couple of months ago (which was lovely, despite the rain!)

Leave a Reply

